Score Saturday: On the Nature of Daylight – Max Ritcher

“If you could see your life from start to finish, would you change things?” 

Been a while, folks. 🙂

But today I’m back with probably one of the best pieces of music I’ve heard in a long while. It all started with the arrival of Arrival in my life. Yes that 2016 sci-fi movie that turned out to be something much more than a mere sci-fi movie. I found the movie, and the short story that I had read later, to be both extremely sublime pieces of art.

Anyone who has seen the movie will remember this soul-penetrating piece of music that is played at the very beginning and then at the end of the movie. In a way, it binds the story together in a musical continuum. At the surface, it seems very simple. It’s mostly the same melody playing over and over again, intensifying as time progresses.

But it speaks to you and in a way only music can, you suddenly find hope in the enveloping canvas of melancholy.

 

 

I love it when you comment!