A month of Hyderabad…#weekendcoffeeshare

If we were having coffee this weekend, I’d probably tell you all about how much I’ve been missing Chennai lately. For people who don’t know, I had been posted in Chennai for my job from January 2013 to the end of March 2016. So, that’s a solid three years I’ve spent in a city all by myself away from the usual shackles (hear hear!) of domestic family life. But I’m back, and not with a bang!

Make no mistake, Hyderabad is an interesting city and I know it like the back of my hand. And of course, there’s the usual comfort of being in a place that you call home. But maybe, just maybe, comfort is NOT really what I need right now? Maybe being in Chennai has turned me adventurous for the better? I miss the weekend escapades to the beaches, or having the option to go on a trip at the flick of a finger. Now every decision I have to make will be debated at multiple levels by my family members. Freedom of choice has spoiled me for good. So should I be the “good” boy or should I be myself? I don’t have an answer to that question, probably never will.

WP_20160417_18_39_51_Rich (2)
No more beaches, just lakes 😦 😦

If we were having coffee (which btw is only gonna be cold coffee), I mean is this the worst summer or what? Global-warming should be renamed Global-scorching. With mid-day temperatures peaking at 44 degrees Celsius, it’s become almost impossible to do anything outdoorsy in the day. And the nights are not much better. Yes, we did see a couple of summer showers (and I mean exactly a couple) and it was good while it lasted. But it was just that, a tease.

WP_20160417_18_01_37_Rich (3)
Before the drizzle…

But is there a bright spot in all this? Well, I can say that it’s good to be back to my kitchen for one. I’m trying my hand at all the stuff that I wanted to do once I’m back here. Like Italian cuisine. And how simple it is to whip up a delicious plate of pasta if you bring the right stuff together!! Baking is another thing that gets me going, and I love that I can finally get to make my own cakes and breads again!

WP_20160409_22_56_43_Rich.jpg
Spaghetti Pomodoro ❤

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you life can feel like a hot mess at times. But it’s your resilience at dealing with that mess is what makes you a better person.

 

7 thoughts on “A month of Hyderabad…#weekendcoffeeshare

I love it when you comment!

