Getting back to my gaming groove.

Let me bring you up to speed. Back home in Hyderabad, I have a fairly decent desktop computer with an NVidia graphic card that can play most games in Mid-to-High settings. But once I finished college and got a job, I had to move – first to Pune, then to Chennai. And all I had with me was a crappy Dell Inspiron that my dad passed onto me (he got a new Sony Vaio!). I had to kiss good-bye to any sort of gaming on my laptop as all it had was Intel integrated graphics. ‘Nuff said!

So for three years, I went almost game-less and all that tension was getting pent up inside of me with no sort of release…erm. So, last year, when my Inspiron was finally coughing up its last breath I realized the time had indeed arrived for me to purchase a new laptop! It was an exciting thought! I knew I needed a gaming laptop, I knew it was gonna cost me a fortune but I was ready for it – I had the dough saved up, all I needed was careful research to zero in on the perfect laptop.

And then I did. ASUS ROG GL552!

For one, it looked awesome with its Republic of Gamers insignia and that red backlight! None of the retail stores had it in stock so I placed an order on Amazon, right when there was a big slash in the price. They did a bang up job on the delivery too, delivering two days ahead of schedule. When I got the package home in the evening, I couldn’t hold it in any longer. I ripped away the layers in ecstasy, mutilating the cardboard in the process. And there it was, finally, my preciousssss!

WP_20160215_18_55_02_Rich (2) (2)
Well it came in a cool box.

 

WP_20160217_20_16_24_Rich (2)
That logo lights up when the laptop is on! 😀

 

WP_20160216_06_48_38_Rich (2) (2)
Umm, and then things got crazy 😛

 

WP_20160216_06_49_13_Rich (2) (2)
And beautiful ❤

 

Sporting an Intel i7 CPU, 8 gigs of RAM (which I’m gonna upgrade), an NVidia 950M, and not to forget an SSD expansion slot – this one’s a true badass. Decimating anything I throw in its path.

I’ve been playing Assassin’s Creed: Rogue lately, at maxed out settings  – and I’m just mind blown by how gorgeous everything looks.  Ubisoft seemed to have learned a thing or two from the fiasco that was Unity. The game is running super buttery smooth as well. You can’t see my face, but I have a perpetual smile plastered on it these days

And mind you, when I’m not clicking sunrises in real life, I’m clicking them in video games. 😉

Brace yourself for some video game reviews as well from now on!


P.S. If you’re on Steam, add me! ID: hurdygurdy11

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Getting back to my gaming groove.

  1. Beautiful graphics! I thought for a minute it was Skyrim. (Which I am STILL playing, btw, even if mostly limited to a few hours of weekend play now.) 😉 … I’ve heard good things about Assassin’s Creed, but haven’t played it yet. On the wish list for “someday”. I’ve got far too many games at the moment to excuse buying another one. >.< (Some girls have shoe fettishes. For me it's books and games.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well that’s the thing about Elder Scrolls, you can play these forever if one has enough imagination. Can you believe that it’s already been 5 years since the release! Feels just like yesterday to me. In other great news, I’ve heard a little bird say that we might expect the 6th iteration as early as 2017! Probably set in Hammerfell! 🙂

      As for Assassin’s Creed, if you’re as much of a Renaissance period nut as me, then you should surely give the series a go. Especially AC2, Brotherhood and Revelation. These three games are set mostly in Florence, Rome and Venice and I loved roaming through the streets and exploring all the wonderful architectural marvels of the period! Recently the games have moved on to Colonial America circa 17th Century, and I find myself not enjoying this setting as much as I did Italy. All in all, an interesting story-heavy series that is worth a shot. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha you seem mighty happy 🙂 I can see it radiating through you admiring the beauty of every inch of that SUPER COOL laptop. Seriously. It is truly ultra-cool looking and probably the greatest for gaming by the sound of it. The graphics look rad too! =D Getting into the video game world seems tempting now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG Udaaayyy!! The gamer inside you has finally woken up 😀 😀 I’m so excited!! Please play Firewatch AS SOON AS POSSIBLE! My next post will probably be on it, so I want you to finish it by then and give me YOUR review! Plz plz.. Oh so many games are coming up! Such fun!!
    Btw, that laptop is one sexy looking beauty ❤

    Like

    • Oh I’m completely head over heels about my laptop. Most people buy pretty clothes, I buy pretty gadgets lol 😛
      And Firewatch is on my Steam wishlist but I haven’t yet purchased it yet as it was a bit expensive and most people seemed to have issues with the ending. But I did hear that it is a beautiful game otherwise! I will surely try to play it once I’m done with Assassin’s Creed (I only get to play on weekends and I still have 3 more sequences to go 😦 ) But will look forward to your review! I was kinda apprehensive but now that it has your stamp of approval I have to surely get it! 😀
      And yes, so many games so little time! I’m so so behind on my games. 😥 Have to play Fallout 4 as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha you and my brother have the same obsession with gadgets 😛
        And I’m glad my review convinced ya to play Firewatch :3 Plz do NOT miss out on that one.
        Btw nowadays I’m playing The Division, and ohhhhhh boy-o-boy it’s AMAZINGGG! Your laptop will surely run it smoothly ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s good to hear! 😀

        Oh and I’ve been hearing wonderful things about The Division. Will surely try it out next. You know how many games I have in my backlist? 😦 I’m currently wading through Life Is Strange (YOU SHOULD PLAY THIS!!!), The Witcher 3 and Rise of Tomb Raider!

        Like

I love it when you comment!

