FFfAW: If Cars could think…

 

You know I like your determination, boy! Well who am I kidding? You’re not a boy anymore. But you had been, when you first laid your eyes on me, weren’t you?

I never got around to telling you, but the attraction had been mutual. You seemed gentle, and caring, and surely knew how to push the right buttons at the right time. Oh, those rides! I loved it when you were behind my wheel. I can’t say the same about your wife though. You do know she’s the reason for half of the bruises on me.

I saw you grow old, you taking your wife and kids to the movies while I rested in the parking lot, us going on long rides to exciting destinations, I loved every single moment of it. So I did not crib when your daughter was suddenly behind my wheel one day, did I?

But now I’m old like you, boy! And I appreciate you wanting to repair this broken soul and make me run like the good old days, but you know what, all I wanna do right now is stay right here in your front yard and watch you be happy. And when your grandkids come and play with me, what more could I ask for?

I know I’ll always have a special place in your heart, but maybe it’s time to move on?


*Slightly longer at 230 words, but I couldn’t take away anything from it. 🙂

This post is written for the below challenge. Click on the image to read other entries.

11 thoughts on “FFfAW: If Cars could think…

  1. I’m glad you didn’t cut down on those 230 words, because this is great and removing anything would probably have hurt it. I love the personification of this car and its relationship with its owner through all the stages of his life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heart warming! I like this view of the car. I like that he’s okay being old and sitting in the yard. He has his life and memories and wants the grandkids to play on him. A good viewpoint of life. Not to try to be what you were when you were so young, but being yourself as you are in the present. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you’ve written this. There comes a time in our life when we need to make changes and it has chosen to do just that….just like humans have to adjust to the times, but can still enjoy life…it’s just another phase in the journey of life.

    Like

I love it when you comment!

