Know Thy English: Animalistic Verbs!

When was the last time you chickenedout of something?

Or has somebody been badgering you lately?

Whatย is common in the above two questions? You guessed it right (Well I kinda gave it away in the title) But welcome to the world of “animal verbs” !!

I love using these as they make descriptions fun and more vivid, so let’s jump right into the words then –

Ape

imitate the behavior or manner of (someone or something), especially in an absurd or unthinking way.

Hey! Stop aping your friends and think of something on your own!

Badger

ask (someone) repeatedly and annoyingly for something; pester.

The insurance guy kept badgering me all day.

Beaver

work hard

He beavered away at his desk all day to keep his customers happy.

Bull

push or drive powerfully or violently.

He bulled the motorcycle out of the ditch

Crab

move sideways or obliquely.

The dance routine involved a lot of crabbing movements

Crane

stretch out one’s body or neck in order to see something.

I craned my neck to spot any familiar face.

Cock

tilt (something) in a particular direction.

She cocked her head slightly to one side.

Dog

follow (someone or their movements) closely and persistently.

“He seemed to dog my every step!”

Fox

baffle or deceive (someone).

“The bad light and dark shadows foxed him.”

Hog

keep or use all of (something) for oneself in an unfair or selfish way.

“I have a tendency to hog all the limelight”

Hound

harass, persecute, or pursue relentlessly.

Peter hounded Lily all throughout college to go out on a dateย with him.

Monkey

behave in a silly or playful way.

The kids are monkeying about again.

Parrot

repeat mechanically

The little girl learned to parrot back anything her mom says.

Rabbit

move quickly; run away

He rabbited as soon as he saw us.

Weasel

achieve something by use of cunning or deceit

He weaseled his way into the organization’s inner circle.

Wolf

devour (food) greedily

He wolfed downย his breakfast.

 

So, there you go! That’s my list of some of the favourite verbs derived from animals. Do you have any other favourite verb that I missed? Do let me know!

 

9 thoughts on “Know Thy English: Animalistic Verbs!

  1. And Bob’s your uncle! I heard someone used that expression today and laughed because my mind wen back to your earlier post. But she’s English living in Scotland for about 30yrs, she said it’s not a common phrase here, but a lot of kids are now catching on. All of the above expressions I know ;-). My eldest goes ape anytime her sister borrows her stuff! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, my initial sentence was Severus hounded Lily ๐Ÿ˜‰ but changed the name as I thought it’d be an unnecessary HP reference ๐Ÿ˜› Glad you found my post helpful, be sure to check out my other Know Thy English posts. You might find something else to be of use too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

I love it when you comment!

