The one where I talk about Astrology, and other things…

Okay so these days I’m in Tome-Reader mode (yes you read that right).

I mean, look at this beast!

WP_20151102_23_52_30_Pro

That’s Eleanor Catton’s Man Booker Prize winning novel The Luminaries for you.

Now there’s a reason why I’m always wary of fat books. And fat people who write fat books. Yes, I’m looking at you –  George R.R. Martin! A Song of Ice and Fire is a series that takes an awful lot of patience just to get through, and you will have a read a 1000 page tome containing a story that could be summarized in just a couple of paragraphs. So yes, I’m very wary of fat books indeed.

So naturally, my instincts have told me to stay away from The Luminaries. And yet, I picked it up. Sometimes there are no justifications to what you do in life. But I probably did because of the craze surrounding this book, with regards to how brilliantly it’s been structured. It takes astrology as its base, assigning each character to a celestial object – with the people behaving and interacting with each other just like their space counterparts. Also, the chapters halve in length as you progress i.e the second chapter is half as long as first and so on, and this mirrors a waning moon. So undoubtedly, it’s the most ambitious project ever taken up by any author.

But this post isn’t about the book.

When I attended Eleanor Catton’s panel at Chennai’s Literature Fest earlier this year, she has said something that registered in my mind immediately. When asked if she truly believed in astrology, she replied (and I’m paraphrasing) –

How interesting it is, to imagine, that your life is controlled by these random stars and planets in space. That there’s order in the chaos. And that it all means something.

Now if you’ve followed my blog enough, you’d know that I don’t believe in any of that. But one can totally see why ‘astrology’ and ‘horoscopes’ are still present in the 21st century. Sometimes when we want to believe something, we believe it no matter what the rational part of our brain might say. And it is at best harmless, which is also the reason why the charade of consulting an astrologer for any Hindu wedding is still an important step. Of course, astrologers need to keep their jobs too.

If I can give my post a bottom line, it’s only this – We humans take solace from the fact that we are not the ultimate controllers of our own lives. 

What an intriguing species indeed.  But what’s your take on astrology? I’d love to hear it!

14 thoughts on “The one where I talk about Astrology, and other things…

  1. Interesting read! My take is.. Nothing. Really.. I just want astrology to stay away from me because I know it is very easy to depend on something else rather than yourself especially on those vulnerable phases. When my friend was going through a difficult phase and worked her butt off to get through it and let her parents know, they said “oh.. we weren’t worried because the astrologer told us you will get through it.” So, that moment was a true revelation when her own parents could not acknowledge her efforts but rather some unknown persons prediction. And I wonder ‘if she would have got through’ if she had known about this prediction in advance and just sat there waiting. Same with horoscope matching , it breaks my heart to see people having to go through difficulties before their wedding of either letting go of someone they like or not even getting to meet someone of similar interests because their horoscopes did not match or sitting through god-awful rituals to make it right. And no I am not going to question broken horoscope – compatible yet couple-incompatible marriages.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree with what you said. Are all the marriages that have been horoscope-matched turning out successes? No! And let’s not even talk about the “muhurtham”, deciding the precise minute when the mangalsutra needed to be tied. These have just become traditions that’s it, traditions people follow for no rhyme or reason.
      I really feel for your friend, all of her effort written off as a lucky turn of fortune. How sad!
      Something that also agitates me is “vastu”, which sometimes can be so nonsensical in the modern times. But I guess that’s a post for another day!
      Many thanks for taking time to comment!

      Like

  2. I just checked out your blog after reading you’re incredibly written post and I couldn’t help but press follow straight away because your blog is truly both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across it (:
    I love it so much, as I am sure you can tell! So please keep writing so I can keep reading! Can’t wait to read more from you (:

    Like

    • Why, that’s quite kind of you to say so! Sometimes all it takes is a comment like that to make my day and I’m very glad you found my blog good enough to follow. 🙂 And I love book-lovers, so guess who’s following you back! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I…don’t know. I’m from Chennai and my parents make it a point to consult the family astrologer once a year. And it seems to be that he changes his views every year. One year, I become an IPS officer (LOL, my physical fitness is negative). The next year, I’m a doctor. As of this year, I am a researcher. Thankfully, my parents don’t give a damn about the career crap. So you can say I’m not a believer.
    BUT. Many things the guy told about me came true. My friends ditched me, I got stalked, I became more stubborn, yada, yada. So my views on astrology will never be clear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • See the thing is, most of them are lucky guesses (and from experience) and also, anything he says can either happen or not. i.e 50 percent odds of his predictions coming true. And that’s a pretty high probability. So no wonder people still believe in astrology.

      On the other hand, just this last month my parents have visited an astrologer and he has told them that I have a girlfriend apparently. Even though I don’t! But parents are not believing and accusing me of lying to them :O Now I guess I have to invent an imaginary girlfriend just to satisfy them 😛

      Like

  4. I can’t imagine how someone discovered a link between earthly happenings and the alignment of stars. My horoscope has said a lot of times that my fiscal situation shall see growth. My pocket seems to be empty eveytime I walk to the canteen anyway. Huh. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha. We humans are “pattern and meaning-seekers”. The former gave us Zodiac, the latter gave as Astrology. 😉 Well, according to my horoscope I shouldn’t even be in this country right now 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha you reasoned that out perfectly. 🙂
        Maybe horoscope readings should come with an accuracy rating feedback service. That way, you can see for how many people it worked and then choose to read it/not read it. 😛 Okay, or not. Lol.

        Like

I love it when you comment!

