FFfAW: Oh Danny boy!

Louise, with the “The Storyteller’s Abode” has provided our prompt photo this week. Thank you Louise!

Oh Danny! For once I wish you’d listen to me.

You are out there, in the sea, all by yourself. The weather guy says a heavy thunderstorm is expected in the bay tonight. And you’re not home yet. What did I tell you when you strapped on your fishing gear? ‘Danny, the clouds looks ripe. Please don’t go!’ Didn’t I plead?

But you didn’t listen. You never listen.

I’m sat at the window now; flicking a tear away, wiping my glasses, craning my neck, all in hope to see the little flash light from your boat. But all I see is the black waters of the sea.

And then the sky crackles. A wind picks up, swaying the trees to their limit. The rain droplets start to hit the roof pretty hard. Buried in that cacophony, my eyes start to rain too.

Please come back home safe, Danny! I love you so much. But I hate you for doing this to me.

(160)


This is for the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers contest hosted by the amazing Priceless Joy. Today was the first time I wrote in second-person!

Please click on the below image to read further amazing stories!

16 thoughts on “FFfAW: Oh Danny boy!

  1. How sad for the person that is worrying about and waiting for Danny. You can tell in your writing she loves him very much and that is why she hates him for doing that to her. I hope he makes it home safely. This is wonderful Uday! I can feel her worry and fear in your words! Thank you for participating in FFfAW Challenge!

    Like

  2. Great story with a clever use of viewpoint. 🙂 You capture her love and fear for Danny really well. I expect it will not be the last time she worries for him – unless, of course, her fears come to pass and he doesn’t return safely…

    Like

I love it when you comment!

