A couple of questions that Theists cannot conclusively answer

In case any of you are still not in-the-know, I’m an atheist. And not a snotty one at that. I’m also not on the fence like many people (coz that would make me an agnostic) and so I don’t go around telling people that ‘I don’t know if there’s a God or not.’ I utterly disbelieve the God hypothesis, simple as that.

But I respect people’s choice of faith, and as long as nothing bad comes out of religion I’m totally fine with it. But I also endeavor to try and encourage people to pragmatically approach the concept of God.

So I was just thinking today at work about the stuff that God-believers cannot give a satisfactory answer to and my mind stumbled upon the below points. Peruse them carefully and see if you can come up with an answer that’s NOT

1) God has a plan
2) God works in mysterious ways.

Question 1:

Why are Gods localized? If there is indeed one God, why doesn’t he/they make themselves apparent to the entire population? Each religion preaches that theirs is the only correct explanation. So why didn’t people in Rome know about Hindu gods too? Why did the Hindu gods only establish themselves in India and the neighboring countries? Why did both Christianity and Islam take root in the Middle East? If all Gods wanted was universal praise and following, why didn’t they just appear to more people throughout the globe? And why would they risk leaving out China, the one with a large fraction of world population? Do you not notice a trend here?

Why is it that religions have to be spread by people and not by God himself?

Christians will write-off my question saying that the whole point being God requiring ‘faith’ from us and that faith is his utmost measure of our love towards him. But that just feels too convenient doesn’t it, and seems like a rather tedious scheme.

Question 2:

Why is it that when religions talk about creation, they only say that God created the land and the sky and the Sun and the stars. What about the rest about the universe? Because our planet Earth isn’t even a speck in the entire universe. Don’t you see how limited this world view is?

But let’s say that you indeed believe that God did not create everything. That you do believe in the Big Bang Theory and the theory of Evolution, then aren’t you conflicting with the writings of your own religious book? How can you pick and choose what to believe and what not to believe? If the creation was fictitious and symbolic, why isn’t the rest of the book the same too?

God created man. Or man created God? You tell me.

Bonus Question 3:

If God is real, why does he create atheists? 🙂 Why jeopardize himself at all? Why does he just stay outside of time and space, doing nothing and just waiting to send me to hell.

As I’m now talking about religion, I realize I have a few ideas for future posts on the same topic – possibly on the psychological reasons behind belief and some other related stuff. But if this kind of talk offends you then I recommend you to steer clear of my posts. If you’re a happy and a content believer then just be so! But for the rest of ya’ll, I hope my posts will at least make you start to question.

21 thoughts on “A couple of questions that Theists cannot conclusively answer

  1. I am an agnostic. Too bad these questions cannot be answered. If only people approach the concept of a higher power and religion etc in a rational or pragmatic way and tolerate everyone as human beings and nothing more , the world will be a better place. Unfortunately, people have only taken it to their advantage and tried to group/discriminate and wreck peace. I try to respect one’s faith as long as they don’t involve me or judge me. If they do.. oh well I just steer clear of them. Or in some cases just go along because they are my own parents.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yea, coming clean to one’s parents is never easy. My parents still think I’m a believer and I let it be that way as it makes them happy. I know that they’re the hardest to have a pragmatic discussion with.
      Hating or discriminating someone on the pretext of religion is the worst kind of human fallacy and we will never be a better civilization until we get rid of it. I dunno what kind of god would propagate hate and threaten them with hell.

      Like

  2. Romans knew of Indian gods, as we did of theirs as well. There were shrines to Hercules in north-western India once upon a time. Putative gods travelled all over, with armies and with trade caravans. Not making a point for theism, I’m atheist too. Just pointing out an interesting factoid. 🙂

    Like

  3. “…believers cannot give a satisfactory answer to…”
    This is a perfect summary of why apologetics is pointless as proselytization. Faith is never the result of being satisfied by answers; faith is what makes the answers satisfactory.
    Although I can understand the impulse that drives the well-intentioned to want to try to argue people into belief, I’ve always been mystified that, by the time they’d arranged their arguments, they didn’t realize that actually doing it was a bad [and, within some traditions, doctrinally defined as humanly impossible] idea.
    FWIW, I offer my own small apology for the misguided efforts of God’s apologists.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Religious apologetics will try their best to explain any reasonable question with a stupid justification that makes zero sense. That religion requires copious amounts of “blind faith” is what baffles me. And the fact that one is never is supposed to question it.

      Like

  4. Good!
    Being an Atheist these are the two important Questions one would put forth and ask for the answers.
    The Theists how so ever would try to give the answer or convince the matter, there again raises the question.
    Basically because they are opposites, and would never want to come to the opposite side.
    You are free to think as you want, and if I say God only has given you this freedom, you would say why you are bringing God again here. So it goes on….
    What so ever thoughts you have from your side is also convincing.
    If you go deeper & deeper in the spiritual realms you may understand.
    The conventional theories of making one to believe in God are not for the special minds like yours.
    Bonus Answer:
    God has nothing to do, play or tell.
    You may call him God or anything YOU choose.
    I am sure you will not go to Hell.
    You are again Free to choose to study and fully get convinced whether you are an Atheist or a Theist.
    Love to YOU my DEAR !!!
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment, Shiva sir. Firstly I would say that Hinduism is not very harsh in its preaching so whatever you said is absolutely correct. Hinduism is more about finding your soul and understanding spirituality. But if you take Christianity or Islam, they threaten people that they will go to hell if they do not accept God, which I find absolutely atrocious. Some people just believe in God because they are afraid of hell!

      As for me, up until now no one has given me a good reason why I need God in my life. If all that is required is that we live a “good” life, then I can say that I’m already doing that. So I don’t know how religion can enrich my life in any way. Anyway, no offence, I do not like getting into debates as I know no side can win when it comes to God.

      Like

      • Hi Uday,
        You and I generally agree or would if religions like Christianity and Islam did not did not threaten people. Personally I don’t need a God in my life either. What makes me angry is that most people assume since God isn’t in my life I am some sort of bad immoral person. When that happens I just remember Hitler was baptized. I think a person that doesn’t have God in their life is very likely to be more moral and a better person since they can’t use religion as an excuse for doing something bad to a person or group of people they don’t like.
        Where I suspect we don’t agree is in the need to be more aggressive in arguing for the not having God in our lives. I felt that Christianity was withering away in the sixties and seventies. Sadly I was very wrong!
        The percentage of unreasonable people has gotten greater. Part of the reason for that is reasonable people have not stood up for their views because we don’t want to offend.
        I feel a bit funny advocating for a more aggressive stance since as I’m sure you’ve noticed my avatar is not exactly human. Put it down to safety concerns. A brick thrown through your bedroom window at 3 am does that to you. Especially when you realize if the person who threw it had been ten feet further left there would have been a meeting between your head and that brick.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Suffer the little children
    When I see statements like your “But I respect people’s choice of faith, and as long as nothing bad comes out of religion I’m totally fine with it…” I shudder. Not because I disagree with your sentiment if man’s religions were reasonable but because something bad is going to come out of those religions as long as young children are indoctrinated in those religions and that is what those religions demand. The Jesuit boast, ‘Give me the child for his first seven years, and I’ll give you the man,’ is no less accurate (or sinister) for being hackneyed.’
    I had a very unusual father who actively protected me from religious indoctrination until I could think for myself. When at the age of nine I was forced by relatives to go to a vacation bible school session and what I call my BS alarm went off for the first time. (In case you are unfamiliar with vacation bible school is when US school children continue their religious indoctrination during summer school vacations.) I began to ask uncomfortable questions of the preacher while the other kids all Ohed and Ahaaaed . I think you can guess there was a phone call and I never had to go to vacation bible school again.
    So for fifty eight years I have been somewhere along the secular, agnostic, atheist spectrum. But I have also watched the US population descend into ignorance of believing things like the earth is less 10,000 years old, the Israeli Palestinian conflict, IS beheading, suicide bombers, etc. etc. The result of the indoctrination of young children that is inherently dangerous. Isn’t it time for a more activist and militant confrontation with man’s religious communities?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh you know what, I would so like to not put that disclaimer out there. I would love to debate and change everyone’s minds but what I’ve realized through the years is that people are so stubborn when it comes to God that they cannot have a sorted conversation. And I so wish kids were not indoctrinated and were rather given an option to choose whatever they want to believe when they grow up but sadly that’s not the case. A devout catholic fundamentalist would want his kid to be the same.
      I’m not sure if you’re aware of a show called “The Athiest Experience” where they take live callers to discuss about religion and I’ve seen some pretty baffling ideas and beliefs floating around. Some people just cannot warp their heads around the fact the life on Earth means nothing. That there’s no prize for living a good life.

      Truth is this,
      Need for God > God’s existence

      Like

      • Uday, Yes I am aware of “The Atheist Experience”. In fact I think I know about it because you mentioned it to someone else yesterday.

        I agree it would it would be preferable and probably fit my personality better not to get in God debates. But maybe that’s the problem. We want not to offend too much.

        It’s true we won’t convince the person we are arguing but what about the person that stumbles across our argument and realized God person is spouting a stream of garbage.

        I doubt that Richard Dawkins (richarddawkins.net) converts (sorry lol) the Arch Bishop of Canterbury but what of one of several thousand viewers on YouTube.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I totally understand your viewpoint. And that is why I wrote the blog post in the first place, to plant the seed of doubt in at least one person. I could take an offensive stance, and maybe I will one day. But right now, I feel like it’s more important to not bring a bad name to atheists. The last thing we want is being callous and making people turn a deaf ear to us.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I understand your viewpoint also. I would venture to say the big difference in our stances is because of where we live. Am I right in thinking you are from the UK or at least Europe?
        I’m from the US. It does something to you when, if you were honest about your Atheism, you would be legally bared from running for political office in 11 states. (I think most US politicians are really atheists they just know it is expedient not to say so since it is political suicide.) Or one of the reasons President Bush said he invaded Iraq was he prayed to Jesus and was told to. The idea of basing the foreign policy of a country that can destroy the earth on something like that is very scary.

        Like

      • I’m actually from India. And religion is very complicated here. Hinduism in itself is not a very ‘godly’ religion (I mean at least the younger generation knows that the Gods are more mythological than real), so there are a lot of closeted agnostics around. But almost everyone will look down on you if you announce that you don’t believe in a God. Not because they’re offended, but because there is a notion in our country that religious person = good and humble person!!

        Like

I love it when you comment!

