FFfAW: Seeing is believing

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode. Thank you Louise!

I stand waiting on the deserted railway platform. I look around for a trace of life. Nope, not a single soul. All I can hear is the light breeze brushing through the trees and a distant cuckoo.

Well to be honest, I’ve never seen any train pass through in the three hours that I’ve been here, but this is a small village and a little out-of-ways anyway. But what I do know is that the 10:15 train from Riverton should be here any moment! And with it my husband, whom I last saw…well I actually lost count. And strangely, this feels like a dream and that I’ve been here before…but wait! I can see the smoke in the distance. It’s the train!!!

***

Dr. Murphy observed Katherine through the glass window of her cell. She was waving at a blank wall and seemed very excited. The tag on the case profile in his hand read –

Katherine Sanders
Age: 52
Diagnosis: Acute Schizophrenia, risk to others

The train must have finally arrived at the station, he noted to himself.


This post is written for the below challenge. Click on the image to read other entries.

 

14 thoughts on “FFfAW: Seeing is believing

  1. Suddenly Dr Murphy read a further three words, ‘and to herself’. Then he saw the blood. Sanders wasn’t waving at the wall, she was slashing herself with a sharp object. By the time the door was opened it was too late. The train had left the station.

    Like

  2. Poor woman. I wonder what the arrival of the train actually signifies – does it herald a worsening or an easing of her psychosis? Whichever it is I hope the doctors manage to treat her. I believe acute schizophrenia is the easier form of the illness to treat… A well told story, Uday. Nicely done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was very nicely done, Uday. I really like the way your last few sentences make the woman’s actions so clear. Shizophrenia is a frightening and tragic thing … though, as my daughter says above, it is treatable, to a degree. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you comment!

