FFfAW: Tears of Endearment

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Louise with “The Storyteller’s Abode.” Thank you Louise!

Rachel dashed to the fields, tears trickling down her face. This hadn’t been the first time this happened. But how many more times was she gonna get her heart broken?

She reached the standing stones. The ones that have always been there for her. People came and people left, some of them scarring her for life. In times of such desolate darkness, these stones provided her a sense of comfort. A rock to lean on and cry, sometimes that’s all one needed.

But today, of course, was not going to be like the other days. When the first tear drop of hers touched the rock, it shivered and started to undulate, slowly at first and then vigorously. A deep rumble filled her ears and she backed away in fear. For a moment she wondered if she was hallucinating, but then a bright light appeared at the center of the rock and filled her vision, blinding her. When she could see again, in place of the rock there was now a man. He was young, probably late twenties, and didn’t look like he belonged in this timeline. His attire suggested medieval Greece.

“Thank you for breaking the curse, my lady!!” was the first thing he said.


This post is written for the below challenge. Click on the image to read other entries.

 

10 thoughts on “FFfAW: Tears of Endearment

  1. I liked this.
    Could even been one of my guys. Mine were not too much of a gentlemen, though, but maybe all those years inside the stone made him become one…. ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol I swear I did not read yours before I wrote this. But yes, my story could be a continuation of yours! 😀 And 800 years in stone is enough to mend anybody, don’t you think? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Always a pleasure PJ! 🙂 But I have to admit I struggled a bit to come up with storyline this week. But I like that this challenge is pushing me to think in ways I wouldn’t normally. 🙂

      Like

I love it when you comment!

